Good morning/afternoon/evening/night to you, and I hope you are doing well. It is now T-4 weeks until my first race of the year, the AirBnB Brooklyn half marathon and training is starting to ramp up for that. The good news about it is that I am funnily enough starting to feel good, even energised after training runs; although those off-days are nice as you have the whole day to yourself. In a couple of weeks, I’ll start going into NY to use Central park as my training location, as taking up 2hrs of the gym 3x a week isn’t very nice of me. It will also be nice to go somewhere that isn’t a “boring” place to run, as one of the challenges so far is definitely keeping occupied on the treadmill for so long. On Sunday, I managed to get the remote for the TV and subjected the rest of the gym to Alexi Lalas and the Fox MLS game of the week – NYCFC vs Orlando City. At least it was an interesting game? Although the kits being worn didn’t really come through the TV well, and it looked like 22 teammates running around the field. Not very well thought out MLS!!!

Otherwise, the other thing I did this week was to plan out my marathon training. I am going to use an App I got from Hal Higdon, the Hal Higdon Novice 1 training – so if any of you know it tell me if it is any good before I start on July 3rd. That should give me enough time to recover from the half marathon, and make sure I am ready to start the marathon training properly. It looks a daunting prospect when you put it into your calender, but I might like having a cross training day on a Saturday, as it will allow me to use the pool at my apartment complex for a while.

Obviously the NY marathon isn’t the only marathon out there. In the last couple of weeks, there have been a successful Boston marathon and London marathon, with thousands of runners having made it to the end. Obviously, not everyone will always make it to the end of a marathon for one reason or another.

Everyone reading this probably knows what happened a few years ago when terrorists set off two bombs at the finish line of the Boston marathon. Strangely, exactly four years to the day my wife and I rented and watched Patriots Day, the Mark Wahlberg movie describing the events of 2013. I enjoyed the movie, even although you know the ending. One of the best things about it however is that the marathon has taken place every year since, showing the terrorists that they will not win. Well done to all who ran in Boston on the 17th, especially Katherine Switzer who ran it 50 years after being the first woman to be a numbered entrant. That is some feat.

The London marathon, for those that don’t know, took place this past Sunday, April 23rd. I had one friend who didn’t get accepted during the lottery to run (although she said she was instantly relieved) and have been following someone on twitter who was going to run it (@mrandrewdickson). Unfortunately for Andrew, he caught an illness and was unable to finish despite trying to. I don’t know about him, or anyone else that has to go through that, but I’ve said before on here that getting an illness or injury to stop me running after two years preparation would be horrid. Hopefully he gets the chance to run again next year.

Since training isn’t necessarily exciting – to the reason for the title of today’s post. It’s one I’ve been meaning to write for a while, for reasons that will be clear soon. When you start something like preparing to run a marathon, many use it as a springboard to complete many marathons. However, I am of the opinion this may be my only one. I’ll likely keep running after, but a whole marathon is a lot of effort. To make the most of the effort, I am going to try and raise at least a little bit of money for some charities I think are worthy causes. I am going to pick four charities, and will hopefully split the money evenly between them. Over the next few months, I’ll introduce the broad topic of the charity, as I want to make sure the money goes where it is used best instead of a poorly run organisation. The first thing to do before that however is to find a website that I can use to raise the money – so do any of you have any suggestions?

The first charity (although not necessarily most important) is one related to autism. Since April is autism awareness month, it felt appropriate to have that as the first of my “Charities” posts. Luckily I managed to get this written before the end of the month 🙂

As many of you know, autism is becoming more and more prevalent as years go by. The last I checked, the rates were 1 in 68 children in America fall somewhere in the autism spectrum. While this isn’t a death sentence for those that are autistic, they are not going to have an easy life and many have a linked secondary problems such as seizures and hypersensitivity. Obviously, if 1 in 68 children are diagnosed as autistic, then we all likely have at least one friend with an autistic child. Some of you may know, one of my stepkids has autism so it is definitely something I understand and take to heart. As well as that, being able to diagnose Autism, and give help to those children and adults who require help is something I feel is worthy of getting a donation.

At some point in the future, I will decide on which Autism charity will get the donation. Until then feel free to send me information on the charities you think I should look into, and why they are better than any others. I’ll definitely take all suggestions to heart.

Until next time, I’ll just keep on running.

 

 

Leave a Reply

